Interior/Exterior Interior and exterior modifications for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Interior/Exterior Painting mirror caps

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2017, 10:01 AM
Setflyn41
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Painting mirror caps

So i have union jack mirror caps on my r53 and they are looking pretty faded, any tips on painting them I'm looking to make them pepper white to match my roof. I'm not very good at painting at all so any help is appreciated

Old 02-27-2017, 02:17 PM
coopermike29
3rd Gear
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
I thought of doing this on mine......painting a checkerboard pattern. ( they were white)

After looking closely at the " real thing"....

It would be nearly impossible to replicate.... I have seen a vinyl covering for the mirror caps....but received poor reviews...

f you want to paint a solid color...that's a lot easier...just remove with a plastic cap with a removal tool...and paint with a good quality paint.

On line has many videos of painting

I decided to spend the $170.00 for a pair of checkerboard mirror caps..

I know its a lot of money for plastic caps...but IMO.....well worth it !!!

Looks AWESOME !!!!!!!

Good Luck !!!

Old 02-27-2017, 05:11 PM
Setflyn41
2nd Gear
I just want solid white just like my roof, i was thinking about dropping the money on new caps because I do like the union jack caps but I'm trying to upgrade so many parts on my car right now i know the money can be better spent elsewhere

​​​​​​I'll just look up how to paint plastic I guess and order some pepper white paint thanks!

Old 02-28-2017, 01:51 PM
Capt_bj
OVERDRIVE
Received 281 Likes on 237 Posts
you can order the proper color in real automotive paint from here ... I've used them and their products are good ...

http://www.automotivetouchup.com/

they have some instructions for how to do it 'right'

you'll be needing: Paint in base color, clear coat and sand paper ... and maybe some primer