R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 High Oil Consumption--Collective Wisdom

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2016, 06:01 PM
Rich.Wolfson
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
High Oil Consumption--Collective Wisdom

I have been enjoying Artoo (September 2002 build 2003 R53) for over 12 years now. It was meticulously broken it in and it has always burned oil. At the beginning about a quart for each 1000 miles and both Prestige and Morristown Mini said that was in the normal range. And I have been diligent fixing every leak imaginable. AND have changed the PVC valve. And done oil changes every 5000 miles since the beginning.

As I have now passed 150,000 miles, it's burning about a quart every 250 miles. WAY too much but I love it so much. I recently changed the head because of a burnt valve and it did not change anything so it was not the guides or seals. I tried to love another ride and am close with an M2 but not quite ready yet as, I got to tell you, the R53 brings a smile to my face every day.

So, any ideas? There are still no leaks. I have always used 0-40 M1 or Mini Branded Castrol but am considering a change to see if anything changes.

I tell people that if they get a Mini, or any other car for that matter, the forums are the place to be. Nothing will happen that hasn't happened to someone else first.

Is there any wisdom out there? I'll consider any suggestions short of a new short block. And if necessary, I will continue to buy oil by the case until there is a new M2 in the driveway.

///Rich

Old 03-21-2016, 09:46 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
Had same thing with a non mini 2003 car. Wasn't burning oil but it was disappearing at similar rate. Could never cure it and just bought the cheapest oil I could to top off. Finally traded it in for my countryman.

Old 03-22-2016, 05:10 AM
ZippyNH
6th Gear
Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts
Might try switching oil....