R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 ECU Reset Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2016, 03:09 PM
BroBeanz
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ECU Reset Question

I am a newbie still working on my search skills so be gentle if this has been answered since this is my first thread besides my first gear intro...

That being said, I did a search and couldn't find an exact match for my situation. My friend (who I almost always trust with automotive suggestions) made a good point last night and I thought I'd get everyone's opinions.

I recently bought an 06 R53 with only 45k miles from a local mini dealer and after doing some digging I found that the previous owner was a middle age women (confirmed) who used the car primarily as a nice weather weekend toy (according to dealer but based on condition and miles I assume true). While talking to my buddy he said that since the stock ECU is "self-learning" I should do a reset so it can learn my driving style/preferences. He also said since I don't know what quality of gas was previously put in or how long it would go without fresh gas it might not be used to the fresh v-power gas that I like to use and might not be running at optimal performance since it might be used to stale/cheap gas and babied driving.

Does anyone have experience with this that could confirm if a reset would be beneficial for me? I havent heard any real negative drawbacks of doing an ECU reset but would like to hear the thoughts/opinions from the Mini community before doing a reset. Again, if this has been covered and I missed this please just point me in the right direction since I am still learning to properly search here.

Thanks in advance!

Old 02-24-2016, 05:16 PM
cristo
Alliance Member
Received 203 Likes on 167 Posts
It should adapt to your style of driving after a hundred miles or so whether you
start with the previous owner's granny-style driving as a baseline, or a fresh reset