R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 pre-2004 R53 key programming - help please

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2011, 08:27 PM
CV Joint
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
pre-2004 R53 key programming - help please

Hi. I'm a newbie here, but a long time MINI owner (and a classic Austin Mini owner before that).

I've searched extensively on this site, but can't find any posts that seem to cover this problem for the pre-2004 changes, so I am looking for some help please.

I have an early R53 Cooper S, (built 4/2002) which I purchased new. Earlier this week the cooling fans stuck on when the car was turned off, completely discharging the battery. A new relay fixed the problem with the cooling fans, and the car battery is now back to a full charge.

But... my key remote does not work at all. Obviously, this is related to my car losing all power. Surprisingly, when the car battery regained a charge I did not lose my radio station pre-sets, or my service reminder count-down, but my clock near the rear mirror lost all time.

Since this is an early car, it has the oval-shaped key with the two buttons (one chromed MINI logo button and one little round black button with the padlock symbol). This is the remote key that has the replaceable #CR 2032 button battery - it is not the later key which is charged by the car. I know the little battery in the remote is good (I just replaced it a month ago out of caution as it was years and years old).

I have tried following the instructions in the owner's manual for initializing the master key (which worked great when I put a new remote battery in recently).

This is what I have tried (unsuccessfully):

Key in, turn ignition on - don't start car
remove key, within 10 seconds push big button (#1) once, push small button (#2)

and the alternative method per the manual, push either button #1 or #2 four times in quick secession