R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Octane Requirements

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2005, 07:05 PM
mikem
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Premium gas

Hi Folks,

I'm new to this and have not purchsed a Mini yet. I'm still in the thinking mode trying to figure out what to do. With the increased fuel prices I have concern about the need to use premium fuel and if I will be able to find it in the near future. Has anyone tried regular in their Mini?

Old 09-03-2005, 10:56 PM
Kellzir
4th Gear
Originally Posted by mikem
Has anyone tried regular in their Mini?
Nope, never have and never will.

Old 09-04-2005, 12:17 AM
911Fan
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Yup. In my MCS (wasn't paying attention...).

The performance difference was like night and day -- don't even think about it!

You can freely use the cheapest super unleaded you can find -- just make sure you get it from a station which has high product turnover so that the fuel is fresh. That winds up being Costco and Arco around here...

When all is said and done, you won't be spending that many more $$ by using super.

Old 09-04-2005, 09:19 AM
vegasdan
3rd Gear
I would not put less than 91 in my MCS. Even then, I have had bad experiences with some brands.

Old 09-04-2005, 09:34 AM
Yucca Patrol
Coordinator :: Alabama Motoring Society & South East
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Your engine will run with lower octane, but it will adjust the timing so that it will protect the engine. In the process, it will run less efficiently, and your MPG will drop so that your perceived savings disappears.

You won't save any money buying the cheaper gas.

Here in Alabama, they sell 93 octane premium and 89 mid grade. If your local area is the same, you could mix these two 1:1 and get 91 octane. You could probably save 50 cents per tankful if you wanted to bother.

Old 09-04-2005, 07:26 PM
classpro
2nd Gear