Navigation & Audio Audio upgrades, bluetooth, and navigation discussions surrounding the Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Navigation & Audio GPS with way points?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2010, 04:28 AM
tvrgeek
5th Gear
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
GPS with way points?

I am totally new to GPS. Bought a little Garman 255. Seems to work.
BUT. Is there any unit out there that allows putting in lots of way points?
One, because I may choose a more scenic route, and two, for when we do club run around twisty back roads. It would be really slick if I could put in an entire route.

I found it pretty convenient mounted off the left side of the speedo. Only blocks a couple of warning lights. Any other places you have found it good to mount?

Old 08-15-2010, 08:53 AM
hsautocrosser
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Yes, route planning is available. My Garmin Nuvi 1450 has it.

Do you see a "route" option after selecting "where to"? I add can new start or end points turning the previous points into "way" points. I can also edit a saved route.

Mine has a 5" screen and hides the upper half of the speedo quite nicely.

Old 08-15-2010, 08:55 AM
jimmy_racoon
3rd Gear
Received 28 Likes on 11 Posts
I have the same model, mine's a 255W. I mount it on the cup holder on the glove box tray. Perfect viewing angle, if you don't mine the tray open.
(also out of site then not in use.)

I've tried to add "waypoints" to my routes, to find the more scenic or twisty routes. It is a bit tedious. You can research map software that let's you download routes you've created online. Should not be that tough.

Good luck.

Old 08-15-2010, 09:44 AM
Minidrivr
6th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts