JCW Getting the most from an F54 engine

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2017, 09:51 AM
Pseudarius
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Getting the most from an F54 engine

I have been driving an '08 Mellow Yellow Cooper hardtop for the past 8 years. Overall, I loved this car and although it was less than optimal getting an infant carrier in an out, it predated my daughter by 6 years so I made it work despite snarky comments from friends and family (I was opening the hatch and maneuvering her through to the passenger side with the driver-side back seat flat).

With the second one on the way (arrived last week), two carseats are just not going to be an option. I toiled for months over the 4-door vs the new Clubman, but in either case, I wanted an S because after eight years, I want the extra power and speed! Luckily the stalling paid off as the Clubman JCW has come to fruition. I finally made the order a couple of weeks ago, and just got notification that it went into production last week; delivery is still a month away.

Being that I am going from 118hp to 228, I have been trying to research how to push my car further to 240 or 250. The Clubman JCW is only about 6 months old now, and most of the posts I've seen are several years old and reference the earlier generation JCW hardtop. I will likely not mess with anything that will void my warranty - at least for the first few years - but I'm looking for advice as to long-term projects.

As a geologist, I'm not well-versed in the mechanics of the engine or the acronyms associated with all the modifications, so talking simply would be appreciated!

I have heard things referencing "Stage " and "Stage 2" (not sure if this is related to the JCW tune) as well as IC (which I assume is intercooler), and finally, exhaust. Are these modifications already available for an F54?

Thank you in advance! Pix when it finally arrives!

Old 07-08-2017, 05:40 PM
rtowell
4th Gear
Received 100 Likes on 67 Posts