Interior/Exterior Interior and exterior modifications for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Interior/Exterior Sport Link Install How-to by OctaneGuy

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2005, 11:31 AM
OctaneGuy
Vendor & Moderator :: MINI Camera and Video & c3 club forum
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Sport Link Install How-to by OctaneGuy

CAUTION: PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK
As with all mods or DIY articles, the information provided here is without warranty. I am providing the steps for your information, but beware that problems may occur and that you accept full responsibility. Should you encounter any problems, please take a deep breath and post your problems to this thread and we will all do our best to assist you. I am not a professional mechanic.

Ever wanted to add a bike rack or maybe add additional storage capability to your MINI? You could either install the factory rack which consists of a support system that requires drilling into your roof and leaves behind holes and infill caps, then purchase the different accessories so you can load a bike or storage box on top, or another way is through the MINI Fini Sport Link system.

This writeup should be used as a photo documentary addendum to the written manual. I will cover the major steps while assuming you are following along with the instructions. You can find those at Motoringfile.

http://www.motoringfile.com/2004/06/...n_instructions

On a Cooper

Or on an MCS

With the bike rack attachment

The MINI Fini Sport Link is one of ths slickest aftermarket items available. It's well designed and constructed, but labor costs for installation can be prohibitive. This $239 item which is only the base mount requires between 3 to 5 hours of labor and at $150/hr that could be an additional $750 for labor alone!

This writeup shows how to install a Sport Link on an MC. The MCS is a little bit more involved because it requires a bit more removal of items before you can install it.

Basic Concept