Interior/Exterior Interior and exterior modifications for Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Interior/Exterior R56 headlight assemblies

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2018, 10:38 AM
FyremanTFD
Neutral
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
R56 headlight assemblies

I'm new to NAM.com, so I hope this is where to discuss upgrades. If not, please move this post to the appropriate forum thread.

I have been researching headlight info for a couple of months. The stock headlights on my 2011 were bad. I drive 2.5 hrs back and forth to work in the evenings on dark, back roads. The light output was horrible with basically no distance, so I ordered some Spec-D projector assemblies from CARID.com. It was a super easy install. Then I found I don't have constant high beams now, and that's a deal-breaker for me. I'd seen that different Spec-D assemblies said that the constant function wouldn't work, but the description said nothing about that with the ones I chose. I now get error codes about high beam malfunctions. Also, they are so cheaply made that sitting at a traffic light with the motor running, the headlight beams bounce with the vibration. Not to mention that bumps on the road cause the beams to bounce.

I want to return them for the Spyder brand which I'm hoping is a better quality. I didn't get the Spyder brand to begin with, because they have the cutout for the washers, but it is just a dummy cutout. I like the look of the Spec-D, but I'll have to live with the fake washer cutout, I guess.