General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

problems after a tune HELP PLEASE !!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2013, 10:15 PM
SPRINTCARS
5th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
problems after a tune HELP PLEASE !!!

First of all id like to say hello. Im new to NAM. I have an 08 R56 with automatic, AEM intake, 2 1/2" down pipe with a hi-flow cat, second cat deleted, resonator still installed, boost tube muffler delete pipe, and a stepped intercooler (not a helix or wagner but its the exact same dimensions).Made a custom shroud to funnel the air thru he new cooler.The car has a new MAF, Vanos actuator solenoid and vanos actuator. It has passed the smoke test, carbon test and pressure test. Still have the receipt from baltimore mini.The problem is... when i go down the interstate about 15-20 minutes if i touch the throttle to pass a car and the car doesnt kick down but just starts to build boost the car will put the yellow engine on the tach and it goes into limp mode. pull over... clear the code... by the way, theres never a code stored, Take off easy, within 1/4 mile, back to limp mode. Just had a tune and it didnt act like this before the tune. I can say that with all the new parts like the MAF and VANOS parts the intake temps went from and average of 103-115 to average of around 85-93. Step on the throttle and within 5 seconds the car goes into limp mode. cat temps use to be 1200-1700. The engine coolant temp is consistantly 210-223. Is this normal for a factory thermostat? After vanos repairs its still the same. Except now it pulls 5th gear out the back door. Could definately pull better in 6th gear tho. This is accomplished before what i think something is getting effected by being heat soaked. This car just turned 161,000 miles and the intake is extremely clean. Got photos of inside the engine and the throttle body.