General Discussion Competiting with the new MINI on track or at a SCCA Solo event.

Trackday recipe

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2013, 03:27 AM
mopack
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trackday recipe

Hi all,

Just wanted to ask how you guys (and gals) would build up a 2002 R53 Mini Cooper S for a daily driver that also sees the track 5-10 times per year? This is how I have started to think that I would build my car :
15% pulley
Bilstein PSS10
stiffer sway bar
lighter wheels with r-tires (for track days only)
Sparco/Recaro type chair
practice as well as trackday clinics

Further down (when not daily driven):
cage
five point harness

Do you guys think that I have overlooked something? The 15% oulley I justify in the sense that I probably won't need a new program in the car. I do have a little previous trackday experience so I am not a complete novice. But I do realise that to become quick I need practice, input (from instructors), and also a decent setup. So please let me know if you think I need to add/delete something from this setup and what you would find useable. Thanks for any and all answers,

Best Regards,
Alex

Old 11-26-2013, 04:39 AM
v10climber
6th Gear
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
You're going to need lots of front camber so if the Bilsteins don't come with them you're going to need camber plates. You'll also need rear lower control arms to dial out some of the negative camber in the rear from lowering.

Don't forget brakes!

An oil cooler wouldn't be a bad investment either.

Old 11-26-2013, 06:12 AM
mopack
1st Gear
V10Climber,
thanks for you answer. Brakes, ofcourse. I have these on my list, forgot to list them. The ones I have been looking at are Zimmerman rotors with EBC Redstuff pads. This in an attempt to not have the change out the calipers. Is this a good idea or should the calipers be uprated?

Camber plates, ok I hadn't thought of these. That goes for the lower control arms as well. Thanks for the tips and I will look into these.