F55/F56 :: Hatch Talk (2014+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (F55/F56) hatchback discussions.

F55/F56 To buy a used f55 or slightly more used f55? That's the question

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2016, 09:52 PM
NJ Mini
6th Gear
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
To buy a used f55 or slightly more used f55? That's the question

Hi everyone. I'm new to the Fxx gen MINI's but not new to MINI.

I used to have a R56 MCS, which I loved, but then life got in the way of me keeping the car. Ended up trading it and have been in a constant state of MINI envy ever since.

Then came the F55, which fits most of my needs in life at the moment, so I'm looking at a couple of slightly used, but well optioned Cooper S' that are executive demos. One's moonwalk grey and a 2015, the other is thunder gray and a 2016.

Warranty/in-service dates aside, they are pretty much identical save for one having leather, the JCW interior package and about 10k miles, while the other has sat radio and about 3k miles.

Anything I should be on the lookout for on either of these being executive demos? Obviously length of warranty is a big one, but any other issues coming from the 2015 MY?

Also, I really want (and feel like I need to have) the JCW pro tuning kit on her. I've been quoted 9 hours of labor and $1200 for the install, in addition to the $1700 for the parts. That seems wildly high considering the new kit is just a tune and exhaust and I've been reading that many are getting it installed for around $400~650. Any thoughts on what I can do here?

Thanks in advance!

Old 07-08-2016, 10:25 PM
heavyJ
2nd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I would probably go with the newer one if the price is the same, that to me would be really make me decide. I have read nothing major different between 2015 and 2016 except a few option changes and the hidden compartment. Tuning kit That is expensive, I have quotes $2300-$2500 all-in from a few dealers.

Old 07-08-2016, 10:48 PM
vetsvette
Received 450 Likes on 343 Posts