AWE MINI F5X S-FLO Carbon Intake. Available now! - Page 2 - North American Motoring

Go Back  North American Motoring > 3rd Generation MINIs > Modifications > Drivetrain (Cooper S)
AWE MINI F5X S-FLO Carbon Intake. Available now! >

AWE MINI F5X S-FLO Carbon Intake. Available now!

AWE MINI F5X S-FLO Carbon Intake. Available now!

Reply

 
 
 
  #26  
Old 03-30-2018, 01:56 PM
#Dragon#
#Dragon# is offline
3rd Gear
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 263
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have this intake and have to say it was well worth the wait .
I tried to order it direct and was told I had to use awe europe as I live in the UK but that one did not work out after a two month wait as my intake did not go in there container so I imported one my self from out motoring and had it in a week happy days.
 
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-31-2018, 04:18 AM
trentiles
trentiles is offline
4th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 378
Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts
Did the price go up? I don't remember it breaking the $400 mark
 
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-25-2018, 07:49 AM
Josh/AWE's Avatar
Josh/AWE
Josh/AWE is offline
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Horsham, PA
Posts: 301
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
We have confirmed the AWE S-FLO Carbon Intake to fit the 2019 MSC (2-door and convertible models) as well as JCW models!

 
__________________
Performance Specialist
AWE-Tuning.com > 1.888.565.2257
my email > facebook > twitter > instagram > youtube
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-18-2018, 01:52 PM
shmandrew's Avatar
shmandrew
shmandrew is offline
2nd Gear
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 100
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Josh - I picked up the intake used from a friend and am experiencing a P00BD code for "Mass Air Flow (MAF) A Circuit Range/Perf Flow Too High." Friend did not have any codes in the approx 8000 miles he used it. Everything looks to be in perfect shape and installed easily following AWE's instructions. Any idea what the issue could be?
 
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-18-2018, 02:14 PM
Josh/AWE's Avatar
Josh/AWE
Josh/AWE is offline
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Horsham, PA
Posts: 301
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by shmandrew View Post
Josh - I picked up the intake used from a friend and am experiencing a P00BD code for "Mass Air Flow (MAF) A Circuit Range/Perf Flow Too High." Friend did not have any codes in the approx 8000 miles he used it. Everything looks to be in perfect shape and installed easily following AWE's instructions. Any idea what the issue could be?
Fill out this form as soon as ya can.
 
__________________
Performance Specialist
AWE-Tuning.com > 1.888.565.2257
my email > facebook > twitter > instagram > youtube
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Josh/AWE For This Useful Post:
shmandrew (07-18-2018)
  #31  
Old 07-18-2018, 02:57 PM
shmandrew's Avatar
shmandrew
shmandrew is offline
2nd Gear
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 100
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by Josh/AWE View Post
Fill out this form as soon as ya can.
Thanks. Will do once I get home.
 
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07-18-2018, 03:29 PM
camptown
camptown is offline
2nd Gear
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by shmandrew View Post
Josh - I picked up the intake used from a friend and am experiencing a P00BD code for "Mass Air Flow (MAF) A Circuit Range/Perf Flow Too High." Friend did not have any codes in the approx 8000 miles he used it. Everything looks to be in perfect shape and installed easily following AWE's instructions. Any idea what the issue could be?
I would recommend you clean and oil the air filter. Doing so helps the air flow and I clean my filter every 10,000 miles or so.
 
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-18-2018, 06:40 PM
shmandrew's Avatar
shmandrew
shmandrew is offline
2nd Gear
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 100
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by camptown View Post
I would recommend you clean and oil the air filter. Doing so helps the air flow and I clean my filter every 10,000 miles or so.
Thanks. The filter looks very clean but I guess it wouldn't hurt to clean and oil it. I have a K&N cleaning/oil kit - can I use that or do I need something special from AWE?

Although the last thing I want is more airflow at this point - CEL says I already have too much
 
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-29-2018, 11:24 AM
Lionel Hutz
Lionel Hutz is offline
1st Gear
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 37
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
AWE: have you applied for a CARB EO for this intake? For what models/years?
 
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-30-2018, 06:03 AM
Josh/AWE's Avatar
Josh/AWE
Josh/AWE is offline
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Horsham, PA
Posts: 301
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Lionel Hutz View Post
AWE: have you applied for a CARB EO for this intake? For what models/years?
Not yet, but CARB approval is coming.
 
__________________
Performance Specialist
AWE-Tuning.com > 1.888.565.2257
my email > facebook > twitter > instagram > youtube
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-02-2018, 08:38 PM
Propak
Propak is offline
1st Gear
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
How is the fitment on a 2019 F60? The Cravenspeed CAI (for F56) fits the F60 minus one mounting bolt. Have you tried it in a F60?
 
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-03-2018, 04:53 AM
Josh/AWE's Avatar
Josh/AWE
Josh/AWE is offline
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Horsham, PA
Posts: 301
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Propak View Post
How is the fitment on a 2019 F60? The Cravenspeed CAI (for F56) fits the F60 minus one mounting bolt. Have you tried it in a F60?
Negative.

Shoot me your VIN via PM and I'll cross reference.
 
__________________
Performance Specialist
AWE-Tuning.com > 1.888.565.2257
my email > facebook > twitter > instagram > youtube
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-05-2018, 10:46 AM
shmandrew's Avatar
shmandrew
shmandrew is offline
2nd Gear
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 100
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Just an update on the CEL issue I was having... I brought the car into the dealer and had it smoke tested. Turns out the charge pipe was faulty and causing a vacuum leak. It was replaced under warranty and after about 300+ miles of driving I can report the CEL has not come back. Normally it would come on within 10 miles of clearing it. Kind of strange that the CEL was only triggered with the aftermarket intake installed and ran totally fine on the stock airbox. I guess the leak coupled with the increased airflow was enough to trigger it while the leak with the stock box must have still been within spec for some reason.
 
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-06-2018, 06:28 AM
Josh/AWE's Avatar
Josh/AWE
Josh/AWE is offline
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Horsham, PA
Posts: 301
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by shmandrew View Post
Just an update on the CEL issue I was having... I brought the car into the dealer and had it smoke tested. Turns out the charge pipe was faulty and causing a vacuum leak. It was replaced under warranty and after about 300+ miles of driving I can report the CEL has not come back. Normally it would come on within 10 miles of clearing it. Kind of strange that the CEL was only triggered with the aftermarket intake installed and ran totally fine on the stock airbox. I guess the leak coupled with the increased airflow was enough to trigger it while the leak with the stock box must have still been within spec for some reason.
Glad you were able to get it sorted
 
__________________
Performance Specialist
AWE-Tuning.com > 1.888.565.2257
my email > facebook > twitter > instagram > youtube
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08-14-2018, 08:39 PM
Propak
Propak is offline
1st Gear
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Installed the Awe S-flo on my 2019 F60 and it fit perfectly. I did a video of the 30 minute install and will post soon.
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Propak For This Useful Post:
G26okie (08-15-2018)
  #41  
Old 08-15-2018, 08:40 PM
Propak
Propak is offline
1st Gear
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Install vdeo 2019 F60

Heres a video of the install I did last night. Simple install. Good instructions. Perfect fit. Great sound! Video is uploading ATM and will be ready by 1am 8/16
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Propak For This Useful Post:
G26okie (08-20-2018)
  #42  
Old 10-09-2018, 01:39 PM
Josh/AWE's Avatar
Josh/AWE
Josh/AWE is offline
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Horsham, PA
Posts: 301
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
__________________
Performance Specialist
AWE-Tuning.com > 1.888.565.2257
my email > facebook > twitter > instagram > youtube
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 10-11-2018, 02:52 PM
#Dragon#
#Dragon# is offline
3rd Gear
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 263
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi josh
if I was to change one thing on your design of this CAI it would be to add a rubber grommit to the retaining arm were the bolt goes through just like the stock air box as what I find is that the retaining bolt works loose because the CAI cannot move with the engine.
 
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 10-11-2018, 04:02 PM
NBCGLX
NBCGLX is offline
2nd Gear
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 92
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Does this fit the F5X 3-cylinder, too?
 
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 10-12-2018, 02:21 PM
shmandrew's Avatar
shmandrew
shmandrew is offline
2nd Gear
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 100
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by #Dragon# View Post
Hi josh
if I was to change one thing on your design of this CAI it would be to add a rubber grommit to the retaining arm were the bolt goes through just like the stock air box as what I find is that the retaining bolt works loose because the CAI cannot move with the engine.
Agreed. My bolt worked itself free and has vanished
 
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 10-15-2018, 06:48 AM
Josh/AWE's Avatar
Josh/AWE
Josh/AWE is offline
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Horsham, PA
Posts: 301
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Folks, blue Locktite would be recommended for such.
 
__________________
Performance Specialist
AWE-Tuning.com > 1.888.565.2257
my email > facebook > twitter > instagram > youtube
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 10-15-2018, 07:06 AM
NBCGLX
NBCGLX is offline
2nd Gear
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 92
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by Josh/AWE View Post
Folks, blue Locktite would be recommended for such.
Does this intake fit the F5X with the 3-cylinder?
 
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 10-15-2018, 07:44 AM
Josh/AWE's Avatar
Josh/AWE
Josh/AWE is offline
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Horsham, PA
Posts: 301
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by NBCGLX View Post
Does this intake fit the F5X with the 3-cylinder?
Part numbers for that motor are different. May fit, but cannot confirm.
 
__________________
Performance Specialist
AWE-Tuning.com > 1.888.565.2257
my email > facebook > twitter > instagram > youtube
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 10-15-2018, 01:53 PM
#Dragon#
#Dragon# is offline
3rd Gear
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 263
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Josh/AWE View Post
Folks, blue Locktite would be recommended for such.
or ptfe tape on the thread of the bolt
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Josh/AWE
JCW Garage
4
03-21-2016 02:06 PM
Josh/AWE
Vendor Announcements
0
03-21-2016 12:35 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: AWE MINI F5X S-FLO Carbon Intake. Available now!


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: