Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain Modifications for R53

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2017, 11:34 AM
AngelicVictoria
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Modifications for R53

So I have an 2002 Mini Cooper S (R53) and its stock but fear not I would like to make it faster

I'm very new to the "car modding scene" so I'm not sure what good parts for it are.

Not sure if this is worth pointing out, but my goal is 300HP. Not all at once! This would be like a over like 3 years slowly build up to that. I intend to keep the car for a very long time and just fix it when things go wrong. I think the warranty has expired like a decade ago so haha

Thanks for your time and look forward to your comments!
And hopefully this is where I should post this thread

Old 04-03-2017, 04:28 PM
sevin
6th Gear
Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
300WHP or 300HP? Two different things, one far less reachable than the other. To put it in perspective, you will need to bore or stroke the cylinders out to get above ~260WHP in these cars. That's serious work. More than that and you'll need to look at a new supercharger, like a Rotrex or Sprintex. My car makes 210WHP with basic mods, any further than this and I'll need to get into the cylinder head doing a bigger cam, bigger valves, ported runners etc. And that's just the mods needed to make the power, you will need many more supporting mods to keep things running reliably. 300WHP is over double the factory number.

Last edited by sevin; 04-03-2017 at 04:33 PM.
Old 04-03-2017, 06:45 PM
BruceJ
2nd Gear
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Welcome to the go-cart Mini World. This car can put the fun back into driving.