Go Back  North American Motoring > 3rd Generation MINIs > Modifications > Drivetrain (Cooper S)
Bytetronik ECU Flash/Tune for the F56 B48 MINI >

Bytetronik ECU Flash/Tune for the F56 B48 MINI

Bytetronik ECU Flash/Tune for the F56 B48 MINI

  #26  
Old 12-01-2016, 12:37 PM
johntotah94's Avatar
johntotah94
johntotah94 is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,403
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts
Updates with JB4?
 
  #27  
Old 12-01-2016, 06:48 PM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
Originally Posted by johntotah94 View Post
Updates with JB4?
Working on it still...
 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #28  
Old 02-04-2017, 07:54 PM
johntotah94's Avatar
johntotah94
johntotah94 is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,403
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts
Post ASAP when it is finished! Highly interested and excited!
 
  #29  
Old 02-10-2017, 08:22 AM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
Updated Post #2 with OBD Flashing info. Latest pricing and product release date to be announced ... Stay Tuned
 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #30  
Old 02-10-2017, 08:46 AM
MarcoPolo's Avatar
MarcoPolo
MarcoPolo is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 808
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
that's great news. hate to beat a dead horse here....where do we stand on JB4 integration.
 
  #31  
Old 02-10-2017, 11:39 AM
trentiles
trentiles is offline
4th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 378
Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Looks great! I like the option to be able to do this in our own garage/driveway.
 
  #32  
Old 02-10-2017, 07:18 PM
MiniF55
MiniF55 is offline
3rd Gear
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 238
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Also very interested in options available out there. Been looking into JB4 and this seems to compliment it nicely. There's just a lot to take in and in not as technologically advance as some of you guys. Lol.
 
  #33  
Old 02-11-2017, 06:19 AM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
Originally Posted by MarcoPolo View Post
that's great news. hate to beat a dead horse here....where do we stand on JB4 integration.
We are working with Terry this week (and next) to optimize the 'back-end' flash for the JB4. It's much more convenient to data log & test out tunes now the flash thru OBD2 is fully functional

Will provide an update once things are finalized.
 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #34  
Old 02-11-2017, 08:42 AM
johntotah94's Avatar
johntotah94
johntotah94 is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,403
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts
Originally Posted by Bytetronik View Post
We are working with Terry this week (and next) to optimize the 'back-end' flash for the JB4. It's much more convenient to data log & test out tunes now the flash thru OBD2 is fully functional

Will provide an update once things are finalized.
does it still require the initial bench flash to unlock OBD?
Or can u do OBD tuning without removal of ECU
 
  #35  
Old 02-12-2017, 06:32 AM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
Originally Posted by johntotah94 View Post
does it still require the initial bench flash to unlock OBD?
Yes. The ECU needs to be bench flashed at least once in order to unlock the OBD tuning.
 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #36  
Old 02-13-2017, 10:53 PM
johntotah94's Avatar
johntotah94
johntotah94 is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,403
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts
Originally Posted by Bytetronik View Post
Yes. The ECU needs to be bench flashed at least once in order to unlock the OBD tuning.
Hope we can get maps for E85 mixes since our gas is so crappy in California
 
  #37  
Old 02-21-2017, 04:53 PM
MarcoPolo's Avatar
MarcoPolo
MarcoPolo is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 808
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
what was max boost on that dyno in the first post?
 
  #38  
Old 02-21-2017, 06:12 PM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
Originally Posted by MarcoPolo View Post
what was max boost on that dyno in the first post?
Max 19 PSI
 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #39  
Old 02-21-2017, 08:45 PM
BadakVT's Avatar
BadakVT
BadakVT is offline
3rd Gear
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Do you think you'd have any problem flashing an UK/EURO spec B48 DME?

I'd also like to see some real results/improvements with the JB4 if you have any.
 
  #40  
Old 02-24-2017, 05:02 AM
trentiles
trentiles is offline
4th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 378
Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Does your software give the user the ability to read and save the stock ecu software before flashing? If we want to flash back to 100% true stock software do we have that ability?
 
  #41  
Old 02-24-2017, 05:51 AM
MarcoPolo's Avatar
MarcoPolo
MarcoPolo is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 808
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Originally Posted by trentiles View Post
Does your software give the user the ability to read and save the stock ecu software before flashing? If we want to flash back to 100% true stock software do we have that ability?
to add to that question, is the MAP a proprietary MAP? i don't mean sharing among vin's, i mean if someone were to get their own tune, could the OBD module be used to upload the file or is the start/end process a BT proprietary system.
 
  #42  
Old 02-27-2017, 04:35 AM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
Originally Posted by trentiles View Post
Does your software give the user the ability to read and save the stock ecu software before flashing? If we want to flash back to 100% true stock software do we have that ability?
Your ECU needs to be boot-mode on the bench in order to enable OBD2 flashing. So we will have your stock rom. To return it to OEM stock, there are a couple of methods: 1) Send the ECU back to us for a return to stock bench flash; 2) Use a factory type tool to flash the OEM map back into your ecu (can be done with BMW tool).

Originally Posted by BadakVT View Post
Do you think you'd have any problem flashing an UK/EURO spec B48 DME?

I'd also like to see some real results/improvements with the JB4 if you have any.
We are working with our Euro partners to test on their shop cars. Results to follow. JB4 results are not yet available b/c we are still testing with BMS.

Originally Posted by MarcoPolo View Post
to add to that question, is the MAP a proprietary MAP? i don't mean sharing among vin's, i mean if someone were to get their own tune, could the OBD module be used to upload the file or is the start/end process a BT proprietary system.
Maps are proprietary.
 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #43  
Old 04-09-2017, 05:13 AM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
2015 S-Manual; 298 HP / 473 NM (349 Torque); 18 PSI

Just completed Bytetronik Stage 1 Flash for the Euro-spec Cooper-S with manual transmission... Awesome results
- 2015 "S" F56 Manual (UK Model)
- 1320MINI Shop MINI
- JCW Exhaust
- Airtec IC
- 4th Gear Run
- 18 PSI
- 298 BHP ~260 WHP
- 473 NM ~349 Engine Torque




F56 Cooper-S manual, Bytetronik Stage 1 Tune
 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #44  
Old 04-09-2017, 06:20 AM
#Dragon#
#Dragon# is offline
3rd Gear
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 266
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I was hoping that your kits would have a simple return to stock come service time that the end user could do ��
 
  #45  
Old 04-09-2017, 07:25 AM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
Originally Posted by #Dragon# View Post
I was hoping that your kits would have a simple return to stock come service time that the end user could do ��
With the optional FlashAccess OBD Module, you can flash the stock tune file back into the ECU and the car will run like stock, but the modified codes ("Patch") that allows OBD Flashing is still present. So if dealer does a software update, then it will wipe out this patch. At that time, you'll have to go to one of our dealers to get the "Patch" reapplied or mail us the ecu for a reflash.

No company in the world at this time can reflash the ECU via the OBD port without first applying this software patch (except for BMW and Bosch, of course).
 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #46  
Old 04-09-2017, 10:30 AM
#Dragon#
#Dragon# is offline
3rd Gear
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 266
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Bytetronik View Post
With the optional FlashAccess OBD Module, you can flash the stock tune file back into the ECU and the car will run like stock, but the modified codes ("Patch") that allows OBD Flashing is still present. So if dealer does a software update, then it will wipe out this patch. At that time, you'll have to go to one of our dealers to get the "Patch" reapplied or mail us the ecu for a reflash.

No company in the world at this time can reflash the ECU via the OBD port without first applying this software patch (except for BMW and Bosch, of course).
Thanks for the reply i ment to ask the question when i saw you guys at the lohen dyno.
 
  #47  
Old 04-11-2017, 04:38 PM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
F56 Cooper-S Manual (Before and After Dyno)

Originally Posted by Bytetronik View Post
2015 Manual S with Bytetronik Stage 1 Flash for the Euro-spec F56 "S".
- 2015 "S" F56 Manual (UK Model)
- 1320MINI Shop MINI
- JCW Exhaust
- Airtec IC
- 4th Gear Run
- 18 PSI
- 298 BHP ~260 WHP (on Lohen's Dyno)
- 473 NM ~349 Engine Torque (on Lohen's Dyno)

F56 Cooper-S manual, Bytetronik Stage 1 Tune
The same F56 with the Before and After from the 1320MINI's Mustang Dyno:

Stock: 204 WHP / 228 WTQE
Tuned: 261 WHP / 306 WTQE (BT Stage 1 Flash)
Gains: +57 WHP/ +78 WTQE

We can prove consistent power gains for both the JCW and the Cooper-S models on all types of Dynos (DynoJet, Rotronics, Mustang...)



Gains: +57 WHP/ +78 WTQE
 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #48  
Old 04-14-2017, 01:26 AM
#Dragon#
#Dragon# is offline
3rd Gear
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 266
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Bytetronik View Post
Just completed Bytetronik Stage 1 Flash for the Euro-spec Cooper-S with manual transmission... Awesome results
- 2015 "S" F56 Manual (UK Model)
- 1320MINI Shop MINI
- JCW Exhaust
- Airtec IC
- 4th Gear Run
- 18 PSI
- 298 BHP ~260 WHP
- [B]473



F56 Cooper-S manual, Bytetronik Stage 1 Tune
Why does the graph have a wobble at the top end then drop off.
 
  #49  
Old 04-14-2017, 04:43 AM
Bytetronik
Bytetronik is online now
Vendor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 528
Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts
Originally Posted by #Dragon# View Post
Why does the graph have a wobble at the top end then drop off.
On the UK Dyno Day, our Stage-1 "S" (Paul Webster MINI) made the most Torque and even beat out two F56 JCWs, but it was a couple of HP behind the Stage-2 mapped JCW... So clutch slippage could have definitely been a factor.

If you look at the other graph from the 1320's Mustang Dyno, the power graph is pretty straight... but the stock clutch was slipping when we were finalizing the tune.

On the streets, the car pulls like mad... and we are on the hunt for a Stage 2 clutch before we install the de-Cat and colder plugs; that's when we can turn the boost up from the current level of 18PSI

 
__________________
*** We Don't Simply Offer Tunes... We Offer TUNING SOLUTIONS ***
Follow us Twitter #Bytetronik | www.Bytetronik.com
  #50  
Old 04-14-2017, 02:14 PM
johntotah94's Avatar
johntotah94
johntotah94 is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,403
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts
Do you guys find a colder plug to recommend?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Bytetronik ECU Flash/Tune for the F56 B48 MINI


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: