Classic Mini Talk Interested in the Classic Mini? Discuss the Classic and its variants here!

classically clueless..

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2006, 11:24 AM
istara
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
classically clueless..

I'll start with the warning that I'm new to all of this, but eager to learn more..

I actually started out the summer looking for a MINI, but quickly became attracted to the classic style. Gradually I've started to learn more about all the various models, but it's been a pretty slow process and so I'm looking for advice from those of you who know your stuff.

While continuing to look for a mini (still mostly MINIs, because there don't seem to be hardly any classics in my area), I came across an auction for a 1980 classic mini, LH, automatic transmition, which is ready to be shipped from the UK. (I'd link the auction, but I had a hard time pinning down a copy of the forum rules? It's a pretty quick find on ebay)

Being left-handed and automatic, it's cute, but seems just a little less exciting than a lot of the classics out there. My brother, on the other hand, thinks that it's the best idea in the world and really wants me to get it. I would love to hear some opinions.

It's not terribly expensive (would probably be $5,500-6,500 in total - shipping included), but again, I'm not up on how to judge the worth of many of these cars. It also scares me to purchase a mini (or any car, for that matter) from overseas without seeing it first.

I could ramble on some more, but any general thoughts you could throw out would be very helpful. Thanks so much,
-ist

Old 05-21-2006, 07:39 PM
brandondonat
1st Gear
Just my personal opinion

Ist-

Glad to hear that you are interested in the Mini's. But, I just want to forwarn you to really look into them before making a purchase. I say this because there are alot of them out there that are bodged as they say with bondo and whatever else will hide imperities.