1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Owner from SoCal - Excited and Anxious

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2019, 02:34 PM
Zachary Nguyen
1st Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
New Owner from SoCal - Excited and Anxious

Hi guys, I’m Zach, I’m a new owner of a 2011 R56S in white silver. I’ve never been a car guy or a handy guy at all. The most I’ve done along those lines is building a computer which is nothing. I’ve been looking a lot through these forums and learning what I can. All the engine parts are still super confusing. Even basic detailing is pretty complicated. I’m excited to learn about everything though and slowly make the car more customized to my tastes as I go.

So my anxiety comes in the form that I’m a poor college student. I’m here in SD for few years at least for school. I’m originally from southern Orange County and still go back often. This car was impulse bought by my dad for me after my old civic kind of went belly up. I think I took decent care of it and it was just old. This MCS has 110k miles which has me a little concerned. I don’t know any of the service history or anything about if the HPFP was changed or any of that stuff and neither does my dad. Car had been driving great for the last week I’ve had it though. Does anyone have any suggestions of how to go about checking the state of the car for a total noob? All I know currently is to check the fluids often. Any great value and honest mechanics you guys recommend in the SD and/or OC area?

I’m pretty lost about where to start but having fun anyway. Just hoping my car is reliable and continues to be and maybe I can do some upgrades here and there. Looking forward to learning a lot and getting more comfortable with tinkering and all that!

Old 02-26-2019, 03:56 PM
MrGrumpy
6th Gear
Received 241 Likes on 207 Posts