1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The PanAm Mini

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2017, 09:53 AM
Rebound
3rd Gear
Received 77 Likes on 58 Posts
The PanAm Mini

My girlfriend’s father was a 747 pilot for PanAm. She loved him very dearly, and he left her his Chili Red 2007 Cooper S Convertible. I’ve been an amateur mechanic for decades, so I’ve decided to take on its restoration.

So far, I’ve detailed the engine, and replaced the resistor assembly behind the radiator cooling fan. While I was at it, I replaced the spark plugs, a ripped charge pipe, the very filthy air filter and the cabin air filter.

Next peoject: I ordered a set of engine mounts to calm the rough vibrating on idle. I have a huge list of items to attack. I’ll probably do this work (the entire restoration) over the next six months. I’ll start a thread once the engine mounts arrive.

The cooling fan project was pretty involved. When I was all done, I set the engine on fire. What happened is that the last step is to fill and bleed the radiator, and then I put the scan tool on the car to view engine temp, and raised the engine temperature to 221F, to be sure the fan would start up on low speed, as it’s supposed to.

Since I’d been bleeding the cooling system, the radiator cap was off, and as soon as the coolant temp hit about 212F, it boiled out of the cap-less reservoir. Thanks to the genius of Mini Engineering, this resulted in glycol (alcohol) spilling on the very hot exhaust manifold. The alcohol caught fire and out lept great blue flames. (Because I had to run the engine, I did this outdoors, and it was dark. This made the flames look especially dramatic).