1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hello and Test Drive question

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2007, 05:07 PM
ripperj
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello and Test Drive question

I have been hanging out here for a couple months and figured I would say Hi.
I took an 07 S out for a drive a few weeks ago. I think I'm hooked!!! I'm kind of bummed about the reliablity as I have been driving Toyotas for the last 2 decades, but am going to get one anyway!

Here is a question(actually 2) I live in central CT and wondered what people think of New Country Mini Service Dept? I figure I will be there a lot and hope they are good.

The second question concerns the test drive, I have purchased many cars some for many $$$$ more than a mini and have been allowed to take a car out with my wife for an hour or so. The Mini people acted like I wanted to take their right leg!. "we can't possibly let you take it out alone!" I got over that pretty quick but even with the dealer in the car we just were able to go around the block by the Hartford Dump?

Do these things sell so well that the dealers don't even have to let people take them out for a real test drive?

The last SUV i bought they let me take it for a whole afternoon.

I understand that some people probaby beat the crap out of them and then don't buy, by come on!

thanks Keith

Old 12-26-2007, 04:34 PM
i8chilis
2nd Gear
My first test drive was with the dealer in the car, but the second and third were without the dealer, and without any constraints.
The "sells so well" aspect is actually kind of nice, because they don't have to pressure you with the "What will it take to get you to buy this car today?" nonsense. The car grows on you, you order one, and you spend a lot of time reading posts on NAM while you wait for it to arrive. At least, that's been my experience so far.