How To OctaneGuy: Magnaflow Exhaust Install on 2010 Clubman S

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2011, 12:17 AM
OctaneGuy
Vendor & Moderator :: MINI Camera and Video & c3 club forum
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
OctaneGuy: Magnaflow Exhaust Install on 2010 Clubman S

I purchased a Magnaflow exhaust for my 2010 Clubman S and documented the install. It wasn't a difficult install, though it still took me about 3 hours using all the best tools for an exhaust install including a lift and air tools! As with all DIY articles, I'm glad to help you if you encounter problems, but I cannot accept any responsibility if you mess things up, or otherwise hurt yourself because you read my writeup on how I installed my own exhaust. One more disclaimer. I am not a mechanic, so there might be better ways to do an exhaust install. This is just how I did mine.

So the first thing I did was to take out all the items from the box and make sure all the parts were there. I laid out the exhaust on the floor to get an idea how things go together. I also compared it to the stock install. There are 4 clamps included and you need to make one cut. Use whatever tool you want, I have an air powered saw. I used a coarse blade. I needed 10mm, 13mm, 15mm sockets.

Here is my Clubbie in my shop on my lift.

From below you can see the stock exhaust

From the side of the car, look for the catalytic converter

Here it is

Using a tape measure, measure 3 inches back from the weld line

Mark it with a Sharpie

Using my air saw

Once it cut through the exhaust, cutting was easy.

After cutting for several minutes and cutting almost all the way through, I decided to loosen and remove the support plate.

I've got an air ratchet for this

There are 6 bolts to remove. For me this middle one needed a wrench due to my lift support being in the way

To finish the cutting of my exhaust, I used a hacksaw

Now it's cut (sorry for the blur)