R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 Clubman or 2010 Prius? What to do, what to do...

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2009, 10:23 PM
trow
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clubman or 2010 Prius? What to do, what to do...

Hello Mini Friends,

I've been enjoying this forum and it's wonderful posts for about 4 months as I've been lusting after the Clubman. This is my first post. Hey there!

Well, I test drove the clubbie four months ago and fell in love.
I've configured countless Clubman's on Mini's website, that site is addictive!

Then I told myself I needed to consider a hybrid before I made a move.
I test drove the '09 Prius and it was a night and day driving experience from the Mini for me.

Then I read about the Honda Insight, so I waited until it came out.
Just test drove that and was pleasantly surprised. I am also waiting to test drive the 2010 Prius. I think enough time has passed since my Mini test drive so I'm not comparing it as much.

Because I generally keep a car for about 8-10 years, this is a big decision for me. I've also never purchased a brand new car.

If you could help (I know which one you will vote for, and that's probably why I'm asking that would be great.

My deal:

I drive to SF round trip once a week 300 miles and otherwise drive to town 3x week, 60 miles. (I live in the Sierra foothills lots of fun curves).

My current car is a 1999 Rav 4 with 171k miles. I get between 26-30/mpg. I also have a 1969 GMC pickup that I use as a tow vehicle. Let's not even discuss the mpg's on that bad boy.

Good gas mileage is a really big factor in my buying decision. I've been all over this forum and there seems to be a huge range in what Mini peeps are getting for their mpg's from 24 mpg's - 45+ mpg's.

Driving experience and interior style are also important. No hybrid can touch the Mini in this arena.