Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

How do I know when my brakes/rotors are toast?

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2003, 02:38 PM
Chitown_COOP
Coordinator :: Chicago MINI Motoring Club
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please don't get silly and tell me: "When they don't make the car stop anymore!"

What I'm wondering is: I've taken this bad boy to the track once, and I'm planning on another trip (or two!) plus an AutoX (or two!) before the end of the year. I would hate to get out to the track and do a run in the morning and then discover that my pads or rotors were gone and A) not be able to finish my pricey day at the track and B) be scared for my life driving the multiple hours back home that night.

So are there any easy methods or rules of thumb for determining the remaining lifespan of pads and/or rotors? As many of you already know, I'm not a pro at this by any means--just an aspiring shade tree mechanic, so the less technical and the more idiot proof the techniques to check would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Old 09-28-2003, 03:28 PM
minihune
OVERDRIVE - Racing Champion
Received 67 Likes on 65 Posts
There are several things you can do. How many miles do you have on your car so far? If less than 5000 then you are likely to have lots of brake pad left. Go and look at your brake shoes. (see Randy's website and see)
https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...pic=6934&0

In general before every driving school and track session you might want to check your brakes/ brake shoes for wear. If you have at least half of the pad left then you are generally good to go. How thick is the original? Either get a friend that changed out their shoes to show you theirs or go to the dealership parts dept and ask to see a MINI brake shoe- it is very thick.

When I changed out my stock brake shoes are 6700 miles here is what I found.
Front