Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension adjustable rebound setting and what do they mean?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2005, 07:01 AM
dominicminicoopers
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
adjustable rebound setting and what do they mean?

I just had the opportunity to get a sweet deal on some koni adj koil overs. Not only do I get to play around with ride height, but also rebound dampening .

However, my knowledge as to what rebound does for a MINI is quite limited. There's posts here on NAM where people have posted what settings they're running. Most are running more rebound (stiff) in the front and less rebound (soft) in the rear.

Can anyone comment as to how stiff vs. soft rebounds relate to the car's handling in the front? in the rear?

Old 10-30-2005, 08:16 AM
menace
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm not experienced with car suspension, but on a mountain bike you would adjust more rebound dampening so you don't rebound upward after absorbing a bump (the return of the shock coming back too fast). Too much dampening and you would reduce the ability to absorb repeated impacts like wash-board bumps (the return on the shock would be too slow).

Old 10-30-2005, 08:25 AM
Stevie B
4th Gear
Originally Posted by dominicminicoopers
I just had the opportunity to get a sweet deal on some koni adj koil overs. Not only do I get to play around with ride height, but also rebound dampening .

However, my knowledge as to what rebound does for a MINI is quite limited. There's posts here on NAM where people have posted what settings they're running. Most are running more rebound (stiff) in the front and less rebound (soft) in the rear.

Can anyone comment as to how stiff vs. soft rebounds relate to the car's handling in the front? in the rear?