Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension Suspension setup recommended for track use

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2005, 10:06 PM
Ethereal
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Suspension setup recommended for track use

I'm in the market for a MINI, still not sure if i'm getting a Cooper or Cooper S [hopefully the Cooper S (only for the extra power)] -> up to my dad. Either way, i want to track the car and was wondering what suspension setups are being used at the track (springs/coilovers, shocks, swaybars, strut bars, etc.). I don't plan on doing hard tracking just yet as i'm an inexperienced driver. More-so very spirited driving, auto-x, and occasional track days (1 weekend a month i hope).

I was thinking of getting the Ground Control coilovers with the Eibach springs, H-Sport 19mm Rear Sway Bar, H-Sport Rear Camber Link. Any recommendations? Thanks in advance.

Old 06-22-2005, 04:19 AM
snid
6th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I've only done one track event so far, and I did it on an (almost) stock Cooper and it worked just fine. I still had more handling left in the car - I was not driving it to its limits yet. I've got the stock "sports" suspension, not the sports suspension plus. The only mods are a stiffer rear sway bar, set on the softest setting, and non runflat tires.

I recommend starting stock, or close to stock. Ditch the runflats first - it will make a huge difference. Rear swaybar second.

For a while, track is more about improving your times than competing with other people. For that, it's more rewarding to know you got faster rather than spending money and making your car faster.

Old 06-22-2005, 05:42 AM
snid
6th Gear
And just to prove that I'm full of crap, I'm about to call my dealership to schedule an appointment to get the JCW suspension kit installed (now that it is available for older cars).