Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

If you want to know if DSC is a good idea... Let's look at some data!

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2007, 12:07 PM
Dr Obnxs
Former Vendor
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
If you want to know if DSC is a good idea... Let's look at some data!

There are a lot of questions about DSC effectiveness and cost. Most threads come down to a few points....
  • I've driven cars for a long time without it and don't need it.
  • I'm a good driver and can get myself out of trouble.
  • It's such a pain at launch that I turn it off all the time.
  • It's like insurance, you don't want to have to depend on it, but if you need it you'll be happy it's there!
  • In this case (fill in details here) it saved my but!
While all of these opinions have some merit (some much less than others) I decided to look at the statistics to see what's up with these systems.....

So......
I found this site that has a nice review of recent studies on the effectiveness of these types of systems. Here are some highlights from a Insurance Instatute for Highway Safety study from 2006....

"ESC reduces the risk of fatal multiple-vehicle crashes by 32 percent amd the risk of all single-vehicle crashes by more than 40 percent — fatal ones by 56 percent.