Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Brake pad wear sensor questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2019, 07:16 AM
banman
2nd Gear
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Brake pad wear sensor questions

Hate to start a new thread as a noob here but I've searched for an hour...
Found good info but all for the earlier Gen II brakes. Mines a 2013 MCS with 60k miles.
The earlier brake pad sensor has a 90° bend in it where it connects to the brake pad. Mine are straight. When I ordered my new brake pads (Akebono 1204) from Rock Auto I had to use the model year 2014 to find the right part #'s...
Anyway, I changed my front brake pads the other day and drove 60 miles with no problems. I couldn't get the time interval for the check brake pads to reset. I was able to reset the oil change due.

This morning the red "brake pads worn" light came on --

The check pad interval now says -20 miles and I wonder if that's what caused the red light to come on, and not an actual problem with the sensor itself?

1) I'd like to disable the brake wear indicator circuit -- is this done the same way as the earlier sensor? It appears my sensor cable is single wire so not sure I have two wires to just solder together...

2) Do I have to disconnect the sensor cable to "fool" the on-board computer into "thinking" the sensor has been replaced?

3) Will I be able to reset the "check brake pads" interval after I've got the sensor sorted, or does it now require a dealer to reset the computer?

Old 05-19-2019, 05:29 PM
banman
2nd Gear
Did I post in the wrong spot...?

Old 05-20-2019, 08:26 AM
Yupetc
4th Gear
Received 144 Likes on 106 Posts