Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Huge power loss with AC

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2018, 01:04 PM
50ina30
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Huge power loss with AC

Hey people. I have a 03 MSC and am having an issue with power loss with the AC on. I know some loss is totally normal, but this is so bad I almost stall the car when I try to drive away. in addition I can hear a spinning or whering sound that matches RPM when I have AC on. I only use it when I have somebody in the car but would like to know what is up anyway... so, any knowledge would be awesome. thanks!

Old 06-30-2018, 04:24 PM
sevin
6th Gear
Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
Your spinning/whirring sound is probably just your blower motor or compressor. Obviously hard to tell how serious your issue is over a text conversation, but to me it sounds normal. Spinning the compressor creates additional drag on the motor and you'll need more throttle to overcome it when starting. The W11 is not a torquey motor anyway; most cars you can just roll off the clutch with little throttle to get started on a level road, but in the MINI you'll stall every time.

Old 06-30-2018, 05:00 PM
Whine not Walnuts
OVERDRIVE
Received 626 Likes on 555 Posts
Moving you to the Stock Problems/Issues section.

To me "huge" would mean the car cannot get out its way. Is this what it is doing and does the AC still blow cold air?

Old 06-30-2018, 07:29 PM
BRGPA
4th Gear
Received 46 Likes on 39 Posts
I don't use my AC on a regular basis, but when I do I notice a difference in power off the line initially. But if i continue to use it during a heat wave it seems to get much better. Maybe it learns- or maybe I learn to tip in more throttle on launch. Maybe just stick with it for a while to see if it improves?

Old 07-01-2018, 08:31 AM
50ina30
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts