Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Yellow Reduced Engine Power Light

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2016, 08:21 AM
turbo_celly
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yellow Reduced Engine Power Light

Hey y'all,
This is my first time posting, so I have a question.
On and off continuously for the past 2 or 3 years this light keeps popping up. I have a 2009 Mini Cooper S, I got it in the summer of 2013, used, and had roughly 79,000 miles on it. Everything worked perfectly but within the first week the check engine light came on, sent to the dealer and replaced an O2 sensor. A couple days later the light came on again, they replaced the other O2 sensor. Worked perfect for a few months.

That same year, around December of 2013 I was driving back to school from home, about a 550 mile trip. I only had about 50 miles left, when that light showed up, the yellow half engine so I looked it up in the book and it said reduced power or whatever. I wasn't driving crazy or anything, I had the cruise control on and I was going straight on a flat highway. So I drove like 40 mph the rest of the way home. The next day I turned it on and it was still on, so I took it to AutoZone and they couldn't pull any codes off. They said I should take it to the Mini dealer because they probably have some specific machine or whatever.
So I drove it around town, it eventually went away but would come back whenever I hit the accelerator hard, like flooring it to merge onto the freeway or something. Besides that, it'll go away after a couple days of not hitting the accelerator.