Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Clutch, flywheel, both..?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2016, 02:42 PM
Mister
2nd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Clutch, flywheel, both..?

My MCS has 54k on it, I'm not the first owner so I can't speak for the first 40k. About two weeks ago I started hearing a "chatter" sound, kind of a little clunky though like something spinning and knocking around when the car is warm + idling. If I depress the clutch pedal it stops. Now, when starting from a stop in 1st gear the clutch feels like it's slipping and I feel a shimmy or vibration as the gear engages.

I'm not very knowledgeable when it comes to clutch problems. From what I have read I understand this is indicative of a failing clutch. I'm a broke college student and at this point in my Mini ownership experience I am wishing for a chance to travel back in time ... while I am waiting for that to happen I'm hoping someone on here may be able to share some experience related to this issue. Is it possible that it's JUST the clutch, or does the flywheel go simultaneously? If it's possible the flywheel is still in working order, how would I tell? I'll be doing this replacement myself

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Mister; 02-22-2016 at 02:49 PM. Reason: Speling
Old 02-22-2016, 04:18 PM
enoe01
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts