Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

CV boot replacement, can I and should I do it?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2015, 10:59 AM
Racingguy04
5th Gear
Received 118 Likes on 95 Posts
CV boot replacement, can I and should I do it?

So I was under my car last night replacing a bad tie rod and I noticed that my inner CV boots are cracked. Not leaking yet but I'd much rather replace the boots than the axle. I did some searching and found some decent info on here, and I have the Bentley manual but I've never worked on CV joints before and I'm a little intimidated. Is it doable?

I'm a moderate at home mechanic with basic hand tools (no air or electric impact wrench) I've done simple jobs like brake jobs, oil changes, coolant replacement, radiator replacement, thermostat, and of course tie rods. However I'm kind of slow in the garage, it took me 2 and a half hours to replace a tie rod and I'd done it once before. And I'm a student/stay at home parent so I don't have tons of free time.

It looks like the procedure is remove the wheels, disconnect the tie rod and lower control arm, unhook the inner CV boot, Tap on the end of the axle to push it inwards so you can pull it out of the wheel hub, and then separate the CV joint. Clean the joints, replace the boots, pack with grease and reassemble.

I have to get the car aligned this week so I figure I'll ask the shop what they would charge me to replace the boots, I think if it's less than $300 it's probably worth them doing, anybody know what it should cost? or how long it would take an average home mechanic?

My worries are I don't have the special pliers for the clamps that go on the CV boots and if I get stuck in the process, I'm probably going to have to have the car towed to a shop.

Any and all advice is welcome.

Old 11-07-2015, 11:09 AM
Nicefeet
5th Gear