Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Strange Electrical Issue 2006 R53

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2013, 03:50 PM
Yami
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Strange Electrical Issue 2006 R53

Hi, guys.

I'm kind of new to the MINI community and am not super experienced with cars, so maybe the problem I'm experiencing is a common one. But, I haven't seen any people describing quite the same issue I've had on the forums, so I figured I'd see if anyone had had this problem before or had any idea what was going with my car.

So, here's what happened:

I've owned my 2006 R53 (14K miles) for about five months now and haven't experienced any sort of problems whatsoever. However, a few days ago, I drove my car to college, only to come back only a couple of hours later to find my car wouldn't start. When I turned the key in the ignition, nothing happened except for a faint whirring sound, but all of my interior lights were running just fine. I had to get to work, so I left my car in the parking lot and came back about five hours later to jump the car with a friend. When I tried to start it without a jump to show my friend what was going on, it started without a hitch.

After this, I drove the car back home and stopped on the way to get gas. When I tried to start it up again, I had the same problem as before. Nothing happened except for a whir. Then, I just push started it and drove home.
The next morning, I drove to school and the car again started with no problems, but yet again I had the same problem starting the car as before. Again, I had to push start the car to get home.