R60 :: Countryman Talk (2010-2015) R60 Cooper and Cooper S hatchback discussion NOT REPAIR RELATED Discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

R60 Spark Plug choice

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2017, 08:38 AM
minimontes
2nd Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Spark Plug choice

So- to begin, I AM NOT A NEWB TO ANYTHING AUTOMOTIVE, however- I am new to the Mini, so I am curious about hearing feedback regarding sparkplug choices and how the mini responds to the OEM vs Colder on stock to "cleaned up" engines
WE ARE A TOYOTA family, long time owners, spent last 20 years building high HP Toyotas, recent is a 650hp IS300.
my typical spark plugchoice for certain rides (MR2) even in OEM form was a step colder due to where I lived (Albuquerque- HOT summers) and how hot the MR2 engine runs.

So- heres my question- On my wifes R56 we just got last month- Gorgeous 2007 w/ 75k miles, strong running, all OEM engine, I put a WMW hot side pipe on it and planning on putting a Torque Solutions diverter plate and a oil catch can and WMW turbo blanket (prolong turbo life)
I replaced the OEM spark plugs with OEM plugs- runs nice and smooth still, plugs looked pretty good still.

I am planning on my newly acquired R60 its first (for me) oil change and similar modifications- WMW pipe, TS plate and a WMW blanket and definately a catch can.
I currently live in Las vegas- so seriously hot summers
my question for you more experienced Mini peps out there is this:

does the mini engine run hot? So haa anyone experienced a benefit from the step colder plugs (especially in summer) of decreased hesitation from cylinder heat/better spark from better heat transfer from plug to head-

my concern is this- when summer comes around, will the mini engine respond better (even in a more OEM form with just the WMW pipe and blanket) with a colder plug?

any real world experiences with this plug choice dilemma would be greatly appreciated.

Old 11-06-2017, 12:03 PM
ke3ee
3rd Gear