R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Pre-buying questions

Old 03-27-2009, 06:19 AM
chipperf
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pre-buying questions

Hey all,
I am new to this thread, as I have just recently picked up an interest in Mini Coopers. The other day while browsing the site, I built a Mini Cooper S, black with 17" JCW Challenge Spoke rims, and a bunch of other options that I really liked. The car totaled out at a little over 30,000$. Its a sick looking car, something I kinda fell in love with the moment I finished building it. However, I figured before I make any final plans to visit and possibly purchase this awesome machine, I would stop by and talk to current Mini Cooper owners, and get a possible perspective.

I have a couple questions to ask in the hopes that it will help fully convince me to purchase this car!

1) I currently drive an 2001 Honda Accord LX 4cyl, and was wondering how this compares to the new Mini Cooper S?

2) What options have y'all added on your cars that you couldn't live without?

3) What are things you wouldn't add if you could do it again?

4) Is the gas mileage on this car as great as it is made out to be on the Mini.com website?

5) How's the handling.. around town, on the highway.. everywhere?

6) How much would a Mini dealership generally be willing to come off the MSRP if the car I want cost 30,000$? In your opinion or experience!

Any other information you could add to convince me would greatly be appreciated.. and I appreciate all information you have already given!

Thanks again,

Old 03-27-2009, 06:30 AM
zonedguy
4th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
1) I drove a 1997 Honda Accord LX, then a 2002 Nissan Pathfinder, then my MINI. Have you gone on a test drive yet? There is CLEARLY no comparison between the family car feel of the Accord verses the zippy fun of an S. The difference is immediately apparent. Go for that test drive!!