R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 new member here, exhaust installation review!

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2019, 09:58 AM
pollito
2nd Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
new member here, exhaust installation review!

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting after lurking for the past two months. I'm really grateful for all of the information on here and happy to be a part of the community! I appreciate any help you guys can offer and hopefully I can do the same as I become more skilled. A little background info about my ride: I've got an R53 from 2005 with 100k. It only had one owner and the interior looks new. I'm slowly learning about everything else. I say that because I'm new to all of this and don't have any automotive experience, but I'm good with my hands and wanted to pick up a new hobby. Some work has been done to the car by a mechanic we trust, particularly the hard brake lines that were rusted out in two spots. I wasn't going to make that my first job : )

The OEM exhaust has been leaking and is rusty and needed a swap so I've spent yesterday installing the Milltek exhaust and header that I purchased from ECS Tuning. Everything has gone pretty smoothly, and the one hiccup has been tool related. I have a 1/2" drive torque wrench that has too big a head to torque the header bolts. I just came back from Home Depot with a 1/4" drive torque wrench so I can finish the job. I wrapped the header and perhaps that added circumference is interfering in which case I can remove the metal ties, partially unwrap the header, torque them, and apply new ties. What particular brand have you guys used to torque the header bolts without any clearance issues?