R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 04 MC40 Edition purchase - need expertise

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2016, 05:30 AM
shbiv
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
04 MC40 Edition purchase - need expertise

Hello:

I have owned (still have 2) and maintain many Saabs over the years. I have been keeping my eyes out for a 2004-2006 Mini Cooper S that needed some mechanical work. I finally found and purchased one yesterday here in New Orleans. There is a good chance the engine is shot but would appreciate the wisdom of the group on where to begin.

A little history of the vehicle. Dad shipped it here from California to his son after he graduated from college in June 2015. A few months ago he had an oil change done at one of the 5 minute stops (he told me it took 4 of them to figure it out). Then about a week ago he had it towed to a shop that said it most probably needs a new engine. It did appear that the oil filter housing was not completely sealed.

It has 67,000 miles on it, 6 speed standard, Monte Carlo Edition. It is in very nice shape considering the engine damage. I purchased it for $750 (with knowing I might need to put another engine in it). I got it home and drained the oil as I knew it was very low from the dipstick. It had about a quart of oil in it. I also did a basic compression test. Here are the results:

Cylinder 1: 60
Cylinder 2: 0
Cylinder 3: 80
Cylinder 4: 0

Just curious what the group thinks and look forward to learning and sharing over the years.

Old 04-18-2016, 05:35 AM
Green Flash
2nd Gear
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
The engines in the MC 40 are the same as in the S - no performance mods. Find a good used engine, or work with an engine builder if you wish to create a bit more power, and you will end up with a fun, rare MINI at a great price.

Enjoy the journey!

Old 04-18-2016, 06:06 AM
Wertles
3rd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts