Navigation & Audio Bring your GPS and favorite CD or MP3. This is where navigation and audio options for the Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs are discussed.

Navigation & Audio Newbie!! Should I get HK option or go aftermarket??

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2006, 09:57 AM
Birdman
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Newbie!! Should I get HK option or go aftermarket??

Howdy folks,
I'm a mini Newbie, about to order a MCS with Navigation in it. I can't decide whether to order the HK upgrade, or just go with an aftermarket system.

I'm not a huge audiophile type, but would classify myself in the mid to high audio range. I currently have a big gas guzzling F150 truck, with an aftermarket Alpine system in it, alogn with 2 powered subwoofers. I love the heavy bass, but I don't always use it (read: crank it up..). I love reggea music, so heavy bass is a must. But I don't mean qty 2, 12" 1000 watt'ers, I just mean a little extra bass from a sub like the Claraion 100 watt powered under the seat deals.

So, my thought is, get the HK system, and add the Clarion powered sub under one of the seats in the "secret" compartment under there (remove the foam..) that I have seen a few people do on this site. Does that make sense? Will I get a good sounding system with a little extra bang, without any intrusive boxes, amps.... mounted anywhere?

What do you guys think?

Old 05-24-2006, 10:41 AM
aDeLoreanGuy
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
There are plenty of posts regarding the HK system here. Best to do a search.

However, the main bit of advise that everyone seems to say (including myself) is to go to a dealer and listen to it yourself. Don't forget to bring your own CDs to test it with music you actually listen to. If it meets your needs, go for it!

Old 05-24-2006, 10:47 AM
dominicminicoopers
6th Gear