Navigation & Audio Audio upgrades, bluetooth, and navigation discussions surrounding the Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Navigation & Audio Good replacement for door woofers found. Harmon Kardon

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2018, 04:13 PM
Jorge Perez
2nd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Good replacement for door woofers found. Harmon Kardon

After blowing my stock HK door woofer and replacing with 4ohm coax and not really liking the sound, farty bass and pops. I picked up some JBL components and just used the woofers.
The sound is amazing, it improved the overall sound of the system.
Im a musician and an audiophile on the cheap lol. I can enjoy to growl of the bass guitar is certain songs Pretty much I have clarity

I used some aluminum tape about 6" wider from Home Depot for sound deadening.

Just thought I would share since there are people out there that think you need to spend a grand or more for the vehicle specific kits and that just upgrading the speakers wont do a thing. They are wrong. These are 2ohm and cost 79 bucks on sale.

Could still benefit with a sub

The following users liked this post:
jjr_sf (11-21-2018)
Old 09-16-2018, 11:13 AM
BMC_Kid
4th Gear
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Originally Posted by Jorge Perez
After blowing my stock HK door woofer and replacing with 4ohm coax and not really liking the sound, farty bass and pops. I picked up some JBL components and just used the woofers.
The sound is amazing, it improved the overall sound of the system.
Im a musician and an audiophile on the cheap lol. I can enjoy to growl of the bass guitar is certain songs Pretty much I have clarity

I used some aluminum tape about 6" wider from Home Depot for sound deadening.

Just thought I would share since there are people out there that think you need to spend a grand or more for the vehicle specific kits and that just upgrading the speakers wont do a thing. They are wrong. These are 2ohm and cost 79 bucks on sale.