How To Navigation and Audio :: Sirius Sportster 5 Install - 2008 MCS (R56)

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2010, 02:52 AM
OaklandMini
4th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Navigation and Audio :: Sirius Sportster 5 Install - 2008 MCS (R56)

My Sirius Sportster 5 Install - 2008 MCS (R56)

I was quoted $1100 ($599 part, $500 labor) from local Mini dealers here in the SF Bay Area to install Sirius, and I simply couldn't justify the cost. So although I'm a noob at installing stuff, I did some searches here and found a wealth of info. Thank you all, awesome info! I decided to take the plunge and install my own Sirius aftermarket unit.

I found really good info scattered around here in a few threads so I personally just wanted to document my step-by-step install process. None of what I'm posting is "new" info at all. But much of it is in multiple threads and took some digging for the various aspects of the install. Thus, I just wanted to document my install from start to finish so that it hopefully may help someone along the way who is as clueless as I am to this stuff.

For my install on my 2008 MCS (R56) without facotry NAV, I decided to buy a Sirius Sirius Sportster 5 unit with the Vehicle Kit for $127 (as of right now) on Amazon:

Item is small, has a nice display and comes with accessories for the car. It, however, does NOT come with a standard AC adapter for home use so you'll need to get the home docking kit for that, but that's another topic. So here's what's in the box:

I'm going to tap into the OEM Mini Antenna already on my car's roof, so in the box I really only needed the 1. Sportster 5, 2. Vehicle docking station and 3. The cigarette lighter power adapter. Set the other junk aside, depending on where/how you want to mount it.

Next up is getting access to the antenna. As Anima pointed out in his excellent thread (thank you!)