General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Test drove a FOCUS ST today

Old 10-15-2013, 02:37 PM
Capt_bj
OVERDRIVE
Received 281 Likes on 237 Posts
Test drove a FOCUS ST today

I bought a 2002-S the first time I saw one. Traded that for a 2007-S when GEN2 came out. Looking at the 2014 I'm just not excited . . .

Took a Ford Focus ST out for a test drive today

250 HP, Recaro seats (that don't cost nearly what MINI charges), a car all reviewers are raving about handling wise . . .

$30,000 buys every option they offer while on a MINI you are pressed to keep an S under that mark . . .

OK ... tell me what I'm missing? Other than "it is a FORD!"

But don't tell me about handling or performance cuz like I said, I've been driving Cooper S for over 10 years AND own a very modified "classic" ... I think I can judge that fairly . . . .

Old 10-15-2013, 03:02 PM
jibber11
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Capt_bj
I bought a 2002-S the first time I saw one. Traded that for a 2007-S when GEN2 came out. Looking at the 2014 I'm just not excited . . .

Took a Ford Focus ST out for a test drive today

250 HP, Recaro seats (that don't cost nearly what MINI charges), a car all reviewers are raving about handling wise . . .

$30,000 buys every option they offer while on a MINI you are pressed to keep an S under that mark . . .

OK ... tell me what I'm missing? Other than "it is a FORD!"

But don't tell me about handling or performance cuz like I said, I've been driving Cooper S for over 10 years AND own a very modified "classic" ... I think I can judge that fairly . . . .

Never driven one
But my thoughts would be

The exterior is just hum, they never grab my eye on the road when I see one, and I see lots of them.

Resale

Build quality, had a ford flex, build was horrible

Resale