General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Road trip planning advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2012, 11:50 AM
ChristieY
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Road trip planning advice

Hi! My boyfriend and I are moving across the country this summer which means that we are planning a big roadtrip from Boston to my final destination, Houston, TX. I've never done a road trip like this before so I want your advice and tips!

Right now I'm planning on a week-long trip, probably beginning in the first or second week of August. I've never traveled in this part of the country before so I want some ideas for good stopping destinations. I'm thinking that I want to stop in D.C. to visit friends, New Orleans, and the great smokey mountains national park, but if there are any other can't-miss destinations, good driving roads, restaurants or events then I would love to hear about them.

Should I book hotels ahead of time, or just wing it? I usually plan things down to the second but it might be fun this once to just see where I end up along the way.

Last but not least, what should I get checked out on my car before I leave? It will probably reach 50,000 miles by August.

Old 04-16-2012, 01:02 PM
GBMINI
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You Should do it a few weeks earlier, with loads of MINIs, on MINI Takes The States!

Old 04-16-2012, 01:54 PM
sspreso11
2nd Gear
For any long road trips I try to plan out the stop over cities in advance and then research 'fun' driving routes between them. I then just pick a hotel when I arrive.

Houston in August...get the AC double checked that's for sure. Also engine cooling system. You will be driving through some think southern summer air.

Also be sure to check tire pressure while on your trip. 32psi on a Boston morning will not still be 32psi once your reach Houston at 5pm and its 101 out.