General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OBD Developer/Programmer needed for mobile app

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2011, 02:10 PM
cgaubuchon
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
OBD Developer/Programmer needed for mobile app

Alright so I've been searching all over for a solid and good looking/functioning solution for iPhone/Android that allows MINI (and other cars for that matter) to show OBD info on our phones. From what I gather, Android has a pretty solid app and iPhone has a few that are alright but all of which are $$ and obviously require a Wifi or Bluetooth adapter which also costs $$, bringing a total install to around $150.

So I got to thinking...I am a iPhone/Android developer and have enough knowledge to throw one together in my spare time and make it available to everyone for cheap (~.99) or even free that somewhat community driven for features and design ideas. This would bring gauges and CEL info to anyone with a smart phone and a bluetooth of Wifi OBD adapter for more around $40 instead of $150 and honestly will be pretty awesome I think.

Now, what I need is someone that can do the job of getting the info from those devices (wifi or BT) and allowing me to use them while developing the app. I have found some open source/free solutions but have yet to be able to grasp the concept of using them how I'd like and interfacing it with a mobile device.

Goal here is to make a free and easy to use app for us MINI folk that can show gauges and CELs at the very least and slowly develop support for other cars/features as it progresses.