Factory JCW Talk (2009+) Discussion of the factory-built 2nd Gen JCW MINI Cooper S, and all unique aspects of this trim.

Short Shift Adaptor or Adjustable Short Shift kit?

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2010, 07:40 PM
Richieb0y28
4th Gear
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Short Shift Adaptor or Adjustable Short Shift kit?

I've been looking online but I am still unclear. I was on Outmotoring and came across a Helix and NM Engineering shoft shift adaptor and a Craven Speed Short Shift kit....I believe I figured out the difference, but I am still learning. Hopefully some of you can share your experiences and explain the difference between a short shift adaptor and a short shift kit. Also, how difficult is installation for either one? Overall what would you guys/girls recommend?

Old 04-27-2010, 08:18 PM
Emann
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The short shift kit will require you to replace your stock shifter stalk. Short shift adapters do not require you to replace the stock shifter. They're exactly what they sound like. It's a piece that you attach to your stock shifter that alters/shortens the throws by changing the angle of the shift points basically.

I've seen adapters shorten throws anywhere from 20%-40%, and short shift kits anywhere from 20%-70%. I guess it depends what you're looking for.

Install shouldn't be too hard for either one. I've actually been looking into the NM adapter as well, and it seems you need to attach it to the shift assembly from underneath the car. The only issue I see is the plate underneath needing some sort of modification for the adapter to fit. As for the short shift kit, I'm guessing it would be done from inside the car because you would just be replacing the shifter.