F55/F56 :: Hatch Talk (2014+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (F55/F56) hatchback discussions.

F55/F56 Sports Mode Setup

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2014, 08:31 PM
GregoryK
6th Gear
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Thumper. Do you have an article or the word from someone in the know that says that it is more than throttle response between Sport and Mid modes? A quick throttle drop-off could do that - give you more pops. I have little to no experience with green mode but doubt that the timing is changed. I honestly do not know though.
What I do know is every article I have read says the same thing. The journalists' would have been told what was going on at the launch event. If the engine timing was remapped and there were differences in boost pressures wouldn't Mini have told the people reviewing the cars?
I am not saying you are wrong on this - just asking for your sources.

Old 08-18-2014, 11:26 PM
ThumperMCS
6th Gear
Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Originally Posted by GregoryK
Thumper. Do you have an article or the word from someone in the know that says that it is more than throttle response between Sport and Mid modes? A quick throttle drop-off could do that - give you more pops. I have little to no experience with green mode but doubt that the timing is changed. I honestly do not know though.
What I do know is every article I have read says the same thing. The journalists' would have been told what was going on at the launch event. If the engine timing was remapped and there were differences in boost pressures wouldn't Mini have told the people reviewing the cars?
I am not saying you are wrong on this - just asking for your sources.
I have it in an email, but no I'm not going to post it. Running less boost the timing obviously has to be changed along with it, along with fueling.