Electrical For discussions regarding wiring up electrical modifications such as radar detectors, brake light mods, power sockets, and driving lights in Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Electrical Horn wiring - connector question

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2006, 10:33 AM
rclements
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Horn wiring - connector question

Greetings --

I am a novice when it comes to car electrical systems ...

Does anyone know the specifics of the factory horn electrical connectors?
I see one multi-colored wire and one brown wire [presumed to be ground].
Is the multi-colored wire a single hot line, or is it a pair of leads in a single wire? I don't want to cut it without knowing what's in there ...

Why, you ask?

I am pondering splicing into one of the existing horn connectors and adding a third horn to the mix [ low tone] for more volume.

I don't really want to go the air horn route, and I don't really want to tear the front bumper off the car again.

Does anyone have any sage advise?

thanks!

RobsSilverMINI

Old 02-18-2006, 10:39 AM
Uncle_John
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Poke a pin into the one that you think is power, Hook a volt metrer to it and beep the horn. If you get a 12v reading, that will confirm that its power. If you don't want to cut the wire, use a scotch-lock splice.

Old 02-18-2006, 02:44 PM
Greatbear
Moderator :: Performance Mods
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Brown is the standard color for a ground wire on a MINI, so if you see a solid brown wire attached somewhere or inside of a connector, it's a ground.

Old 02-18-2006, 05:06 PM
rclements
2nd Gear
Best place to pull +12V?

I got a relay, a +12V ps and some swtiches from a local car store. I think I have it figured out now!

I have a spot picked out and I believe I understand how to wire up a relay to switch the new horn.

What's the best [easiest] place to hook into +12V ? Alternator? Battery positive terminal under the hood ? Fusebox?

thanks!

robc