Electrical For discussions regarding wiring up electrical modifications such as radar detectors, brake light mods, power sockets, and driving lights in Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Electrical Auto track mode and passenger window up

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2018, 07:59 PM
socalva
1st Gear
Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Auto track mode and passenger window up

I just wanted to share a project I've been working playing with off and on for the last two months. I've looked everywhere to buy Ian's Auto Up module but it looks like FES only sells in bulk.. so I decided to build my own. I purchased an arduino, breadboard, jumper wires, and a spare switch panel to get started. Today I finally got it working correctly - it disables DSC after 5 seconds, and it detects button presses less then a half second to activate auto-up on the passenger window. These were my two main goals for this project. But now that I know how all the switches are pinned and controlled, I can program any combination of switches. I think latching front fog lights would be cool. Any ideas what else would be useful?

Here's a quick video of it in action:

The following users liked this post:
Derek86 (11-28-2018)
Old 07-08-2018, 10:21 PM
RB-MINI
6th Gear
Received 489 Likes on 408 Posts
Awesome!

Adding auto up for the driver’s side would be good for people who don’t have the ability or want to pay for someone to program the factory option.

Old 07-09-2018, 08:36 AM
pnwR53S
6th Gear - NAM Hall of Fame
Received 389 Likes on 356 Posts
Good to see a project like this.

What's your plan on how the connections to be done? Ian's is plug and play with connector, which is hard to do with off the shelf Arduino or other similar boards. You have done the easy part - ask why I know. If you are not planning for general consumption the least work approach is to just splice into the OE harness. I am reluctant to do that, for just these two niceties.