Electrical For discussions regarding wiring up electrical modifications such as radar detectors, brake light mods, power sockets, and driving lights in Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Electrical Mod mood lighting

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2012, 11:24 PM
ToxicGreen
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mod mood lighting

Hi all,
I'm pretty new to this whole mini thing but I'm outta school, got a job, and am a proud owner of an '09 JCW.
I'm looking to make some changes to give the car a few accents to match the custom mountain bike that will be hanging out on the roof as much as possible.

I'm hoping to start with some accent lights and since the '09 mood lights don't go green I was hoping to see how difficult it would be to swap them out.
I heard on other forums that these are simply bicolor led's that are controlled by the toggle to give us a range of lights. Could I simply go in and replace them with something like this and use the existing toggle to tune the perfect match of green?
http://www.unique-leds.com/index.php?target=products&product_id=1974

Also, is it ok to splice in a couple extra for footwells, speaker grills, puddle lights, etc.? I don't want to overload the circuit but I would like them all to run through the current mood light toggle.

I'm planning on doing the speedo and tach lights next to get rid of that orange but let's take things one step at a time.

Thanks for your help, I wanted to reach out and see if anyone had run into this before I go buying led's and tearing apart the inside of the car.
I hope to follow up with the

Old 01-18-2012, 12:05 PM
schatzy62
OVERDRIVE
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts