Electrical For discussions regarding wiring up electrical modifications such as radar detectors, brake light mods, power sockets, and driving lights in Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Electrical hella 500 install/ wiring...

Old 01-03-2012, 06:04 PM
minimike21
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
hella 500 install/ wiring...

ok...i have searched every forum and google for how to's on this and havent found one that is super clear.. i did find one for a toyota truck i think that kind of made sense... but does anyone know of or have step by step for installing the hella 500 driving lights... i am not good with wiring things and dont want to screw anything up... i am good at everything else that i do with my car but electrical things....ehhh not so much... i will be attempting this in the next week or so. hopefully someone can point me in the right direction... i want to wire them so i can turn them on separate the high beams... yes i know people dont agree with this, but i live in a small town with A LOT of country roads near me so i can use it out there and on back roads.. some one please point me in the right direction! thanks!!!

Old 01-03-2012, 08:27 PM
Bodhiavo
1st Gear
From the Wiring Harness:
-Black goes to the lights
-Red goes to the Positive terminal on the battery
-Blue Goes to ground, some random nut on the chassis
-Yellow goes to the switch you'll be installing in the cabin

From the Switch:
-Yellow from the harness
-Blue wire you can tap into any ground wire behind dash or cup holders (usually the thickest brown wire you can find in a bundle of wires)
-Green will run to any 12volt source. this is typically tapped into the yellow/blue wire (high beams) but if you want it separate, you can tap it to the positive terminal on the battery, or any other 12 v source if you have a multimeter.

From Lights:
-Gray wire goes to the black from the harness
-Blue goes to ground on the chassis
Extra tips: