Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain BEST PREVIEW of JCW COOPER S MUST READ!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2003, 05:18 AM
greatgro
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Ok. Here's my opinion of the JCW Kit for the Cooper S. Those of you that have been on this site for a while will know that I'm no expert or anything even resembling one. With that said, consider this...

The JCW kit offers 200HP and 177lbs of torque.
The stock S offers 163HP and 155lbs of torque.
So the Stock S torque is 95.1% of the HP rating while the JCW is only 88.5%.

I've seen several dyno plots now from MINIs with the new pulley. The HP gains seems to be around 15 and the torque gain around 16 at the wheels! This puts the torque gained at the crank at about 18-19.

The JCW MINI only gains 22lbs of torque at the crank. Anyone else surprised by this? They use the same 15% pulley that everyone is talking about. Which means that the pulley is responsible for up to 86% of the torque gain in the JCW!!!

The price of the JCW kit will be between $4500-6000. EVERYTHING I read says closer to $6000 although this week's autoweek said it will be around $4500. I tend to believe the higher number b/c when you take into account that MINI only plans on retrofitting around 500 the first year, each dealer will probably only be doing a small handful of installs, they'll be charging top dollar for this. Just like aero kits that are supposed to be around $1250 but go for $2500-3500 installed. So $6000 is a heck of a lot to pay for 37HP. But it's ludicrous to pay all that money for only 22lbs of torque!

Now look at this scenario: