Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain CAI for an automatic '06

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2012, 06:06 PM
MuteMini
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CAI for an automatic '06

Hi all, I was hoping to get some advice on what CAIs will or will not be compatible with my mini.

I have an auto '06 MCS with no modifications. I know, I'm a terrible person for forgoing the manual, but I need to drive through crap traffic a lot. Unfortunately for me, most of the discussion is geared (hehe) towards the manual models.

When looking around I saw many CAIs (such as the Alta) which either had separate models for manual and auto or simply were not made for auto minis. Many more don't make any mention at all regarding compatibility which makes my life even harder especially since I'm a newbie when it comes to any under-the-hood stuff

Does anyone have any experience on what will/won't fit? Recommendations? What exactly are the sticking points? Any thoughts would be great.

I am looking for a stage 2 type CAI that replaces the OEM hose as well since mine has a hole and I fear for the life of my MAF sensor. Seemed like a good opportunity for an upgrade; better late than never I'm really not concerned about sound unless it's incredibly way too loud, but simply want whatever will provide the best response improvement. I hear a lot about the DDMs and Altas, but not much about the Afe. My buddy recommended the new Afe (stage II pro 5r) since the intake hose is much straighter than the earlier model and performs very well. I don't know that it will install in an auto though...

TLDR: Recommendations for full aftermarket CAIs that will install in an auto R53?

Thanks!

Old 09-12-2012, 07:01 PM
WayMotorWorks
Vendor
Received 755 Likes on 617 Posts