Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain 17% Supercharger Pulley - Plugs and Injectors Required?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2009, 01:17 PM
Neufusion
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
17% Supercharger Pulley - Plugs and Injectors Required?

I'm about to get a rattling belt tensioner pulley replaced and want to take advantage of the labor to do a supercharger pulley at the same time.

I'm a enthusiastic street/canyon driver. I've never been to an autocross although I may hit one up soon for fun.

Is the 17% Pulley a safe bet?

If I go with a 17% pulley, am I REQUIRED to replace the spark plugs and/or fuel injectors? What issues may arise if I do not replace them right away?

Old 09-14-2009, 02:21 PM
M3NTAL
4th Gear
Originally Posted by Kavs
Colder spark plugs and shorter belt.

Also with 17% is recommended t o change the intercooler (depends on climate where you live).
Change it to what intercooler? The factory one has been tried and tested as one of the best air to air options for our car. The GP unit besting it with the same design, but two extra rows tacked on.

Old 09-14-2009, 04:08 PM
ALTA_Jarid
5th Gear
The only things absolutely required with a 17% pulley is a belt and the plugs. If anything I would say make sure to let the MINI breathe easier with a 17% by getting an intake/exhaust system.

Old 09-14-2009, 04:36 PM
ED955S
5th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
You'll need a tune if you're going to have larger injectors. The 17% pulley, colder plugs, good quality headers like Mynes, full cat-back exhaust or even 1-ball exhaust and free flow filter/ intake are very good starting points.

Larger injectors plus tune will put your mods. together even better.

Old 09-14-2009, 07:32 PM
Keysersozeh
4th Gear
Received 23 Likes on 12 Posts
Originally Posted by Neufusion